Watermelon Cake

July 14, 2014

20140714-111324-40404516.jpg
This is a super cute and delicious cake without all the calories, not that I really care about that sort if thing. The hardest part was cutting the watermelon into the shape of a cake. I started with a giant watermelon, cut off each end, then cut the rind off creating a circular shape. I also was making this for Jeff to take to a potluck at work and had to be able to fit it in my cake carrier so I had to cut off a lot if the height. Once you cut your watermelon make sure to pat it dry with some paper towels so your whipped cream will stick. I beat 2 1/2 cups of heavy whipping cream with a hand mixer until it started to thicken then added 1/4 cup of sugar a little at a time along with a bit of vanilla extract while still beating the whipped cream. The whole process took about five minutes and tastes delicious. I just started slathering it all over the watermelon like I would ice a cake. I had some blueberries and raspberries on hand and made a little design on top. Next I individually hand placed each slivered almond on the side of the cake. OMG that took so long. Half way through I just took a handful and tried to throw them on the side but then they were sticking out all jagged and in one spot so I went back to placing them by hand. A few weeks later on a plane ride from Orlando to Charlotte I met a lady from Haifa, Israel who told me there is some sort of bakers tool to help with this if I try it again in the future. Oh well. It turned out so pretty and I had the day off anyway. You could really decorate it however you’d like.

I love summer treats that are refreshing and surprising. This was a huge hit at Jeff’s work and I came out looking like some Susie Homemaker, which is always fun. I do wear a lot of aprons. I think I get that from my mom.

Anyway, let me know if you’ve attempted to make a cake out of fruit or some other surprise! Post your creations in the comments!

Stay crafty my friends.

2 Responses to “Watermelon Cake”


  1. I’ve always been curious about this, when seeing it on Pinterest! I will have to try it sometime. Also did it taste good?

    • craftycara Says:

      I was the same way too when I saw it on Pinterest. Yes it is really good. Homemade whipped cream is super delicious! It pairs perfectly with fruit!


Leave a Reply

