A Simple Way to Make Someone’s Day: Make Your Own Cards

October 16, 2013

jeff's birthday card inside

This time of year there are special occasions galore. I love stationary and cards. Really, I can spend hours in the card section of Target, or better yet get lost in Paper Source or if you are ever in Charlottesville head over to Rock Paper Scissors. Making your own cards can be super fun as well.

bridal shower card insidephoto

I went to Michael’s and got some beautiful single sheets of paper for only like 30 cents each. I used a simple paper-cutter to create straight edges and made a liner with the floral patterned paper to compliment the burgundy textured paper. There are all kinds of stickers and do-dads but they can be kind of pricey. Get yourself a nice set of alphabet stamps so that you can add whatever text you would like and consider some basic inks and a few special ones that can be used for multiple occasions. I have black, blue, purple, red and a set of metallics.

celebrate card 2

I also got a great pack of blank brown craft paper cards. These are great for an everyday hello or birthdays or rustic wedding cards, invitations, you name it. The point is to do something creative and make someone’s day in the process. I recently was asked to show samples of my work. The funny thing is that all I had were pictures of things I have made because I mostly give everything away. I like that.

The top picture is of a silly card I made for Jeff’s birthday this year where I surprised him with a zip lining tour.

Is it to early to start thinking about Christmas cards? Truth be told I’ve already started listening to Christmas music. It’s not getting in the way of my celebration of fall though. Don’t worry. There are plenty of apple-spice-pumpkin-deliciousness recipes to make and devour.

I hope you can craft and send a little joy to someone today! Even if it is just to say Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

