Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread

April 12, 2013

So I don’t know about you, but I will only eat a banana when it is perfect. No bruised bananas. Jeff on the other hand only likes bananas once they have turned all brown and spotty. The perfect marriage, right? Even so, every once in a while a banana gets even too brown for Jeff to eat, so we stick it in the freezer  to make banana bread one day. Well, today is that day!

I found this recipe for Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread and thought I would give it a whirl.

2013-04-11_19-14-24_764

What you need to make the bread:

3 very ripe bananas, mashed

1/3 cup melted butter

3/4 cup sugar

1 egg, beaten

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

dash of sallt

1 1/2 cups flour

For the swirly goodness:

1/3 cup sugar

1Tbs cinnamon (I actually used half Pumpkin Pie Spice for fun)

What you need to do:

Go ahead and preheat your oven to 350. Then spray your loaf pan with non stick cooking spray, or butter it, or grease it however you would like to.

Mix your bananas, butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla and then sprinkle the baking soda and salt on top. Gently stir in flour.

In a separate bowl, mix up the sugar and cinnamon for the swirly goodness.

Now, I would recommend pouring a third of the batter into the greased pan, and then sprinkle a third of the swirly goodness on top. Repeat. Repeat. (I did half and half, and ended up with a lot of swirly goodness on top which I think I would have rather had swirled throughout the bread.)

Bake for 50-60 minutes. (I set my timer for 50 and when I checked on it, I wasn’t quite sure if it was done, so I left it in for 5 more minutes and I think it got a bit dry. I would err on the side of less time in the future.)

2013-04-11_18-53-52_474

Just out of the oven with a nice cinnamon swirl crust.

Now I am just waiting for Jeff to get home to surprise him with one of his favorite tasty treats!

2013-04-11_19-20-13_771

Be Crafty. Be Happy.

 

Leave a Reply

