Southern Salad

November 25, 2012

My memaw makes a delicious southern salad called Ambrosia. Ever heard of it? Well, only in the south could you call a mixture of cool whip, mini marshmallows, coconut, pineapple, and mandarin oranges a salad, but I am so thankful for it. My memaw was born and raised in North Carolina and knows how to do southern food right. It just so happens that I went to a university only a few towns over from her so I could visit fairly often. I picked up on a few things around the kitchen while stuffing my face with Aunt Nannie cake, persimmon pudding, and menner cheese sandwiches (which I later learned were actually pimento cheese sandwiches). Well, one of my favorite dishes is her Ambrosia Salad. My dad was born and raised with my memaw’s food and I thought it would only be fitting to make it now since his birthday is tomorrow. I decided I would bring a little southern food to New York this holiday weekend.

I was surfing around on Pinterest and stumbled across this ambrosia recipe you can also refer to if you would like to make it yourself.

So here is what you need.

So that is supposed to be a can of mandarin oranges, but I just happened to have a few mandarin orange fruit cups that did the trick (drained). Also, in the link I gave you earlier it only called for an 8 ounce can of crushed pineapple, but I used a 20 oz can because it is delicious and I don’t drain it! You also need 2 cups of sweetened  shredded coconut, 2 cups of mini marshmallows, and of course 8 oz of cool whip.

So I first put in my cool whip and then just folded in my other ingredients.

So, I admit that it doesn’t look all that amazing in pictures, but it is super delicious!

Now let it refrigerate for a while. I let mine chill for about 2 hours, but honestly you could eat it sooner.

Then dish it up, and eat it!

 

Honestly, of all of my posts, this has got to be the simplest thing I’ve made and I pretty mush only do simple so that is saying a lot. It took me less than 10 minutes to mix everything up.

In my family we eat ambrosia for dessert, but it is a salad so live it up a little if you want and eat it for lunch some day.

If you make it, tell me about it. I’d love to hear your efforts and successes! Is there something your memaw makes that you just love? Why not share it in the comments section?

Tasty crafts may be my favorite crafts, especially around the holidays. Happy start to the  tasty holidays everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

