Saturday Quiche

November 24, 2012

I am visiting my parents for the holiday and was up early this morning. My mom’s old Betty Crocker cook book was on the counter and I decided to try out a different kind of pie. Here was my first attempt at a quiche.

Luckily my mom had an extra pie crust in the fridge. While I was at Thanksgiving dinner at Jeffrey’s parents’ house, his Aunt Cheryl told me how to make a pretty edge on the pie crust by taking two fingers from one hand and holding the pie crust to the pie plate, take your index finger from your other hand and pull the pie crust from in between your other fingers in towards the center of the pie. It makes this pretty scallop zig-zag edge.

I decided on a Quiche Lorraine. Here is the recipe.

I didn’t have Swiss cheese, so I used cheddar, and I didn’t have cayenne pepper so I used Hot Shot. Also we had a spiral cut ham the day after Thanksgiving so I used that instead of bacon and we didn’t have any whipping cream so I used half and half.

I preheated the oven to 425 degrees. I chopped up a little more than half an onion and and maybe a cup of ham and tried to evenly spread it around in the bottom of the pie dish.

In a separate bowl I whisked 4 eggs. Then I added 2 cups of half and half, 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese, 3/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon sugar, and a few shakes of Hot Shot. Then I poured it into the pie shell.

I put it in the oven for 15 minutes and then turned the temperature down to 300 degrees. The recipe said it would only take 30 more minutes to bake, but since I changed several ingredients I ended up baking it for 50 minutes instead.

I let it sit for at least 10 minutes like the recipe said and then cut it into slices.

I thought it was pretty tasty and so did my family. Also, it was very simple to make.

I am so thankful for a few days off from work and time with my family. I hope you enjoy the rest of this holiday weekend!

Keep it crafty!

 

Leave a Reply

