Thanksgiving Thoughts

November 22, 2012

Tomorrow, Jeff and I will be going to his parents’ house to celebrate Thanksgiving. I wanted to bring a little something as a thank you for hosting and was going to pick up a bottle of wine, but found out that our Target doesn’t in fact  sell wine. Sad day. So instead I picked up two bottles of sparkling cider for $5. Well, you know those felt leaves I made last week? I got out my hot glue gun and made little necklaces for the bottles. So now I have a small gift for my mother-in-law, and one for my own mother when Jeff and I visit my parents on Friday.

I used  three felt leaves, a small leaf button and some red ribbon.

Only the top leaf is embroidered with leaf veins so that saved a lot of time.

I think I like the brown leaf necklace the best because I hot glued the ribbon all the way in the back. Also, the bottle looks more fall-ish instead of pink.

It was a very quick project to dress up a small gift, but I think my mom and mother-in-law will appreciate the thought. I think little personal touches mean the most.

Right now, I am so thankful for family, paid days off, glue guns and Sleepless in Seattle. I am also thankful that you have taken the time to read this. Whether you are with family, friends or complete strangers working overnight in retail, I wish you a truly wonderful Thanksgiving.

Give thanks and give crafts.

 

Leave a Reply

