Wedding Details: Ring Bearer Bird’s Nest and Flower Girl Basket

For those of you that may not know, Jeff and I got married four months ago. We had an absolutely lovely wedding on a very hot and beautifully sunny July day. I don’t have any of our professional pictures yet, but thanks to friends and family I can show you a few DIY details that I made for the wedding (with the help of my mom, dad, mother-in-law, bridesmaids, brothers, sisters-in-law, aunts, uncles, and cousins).

Thanks to my good friend Elizabeth M. for taking this great shot of us just after we cut our gorgeous cake from Homestyle Desserts Bakery in Peekskill, NY. If Eliza weren’t so busy studying at the CIA, she would have made my wedding cake. Instead, she made these incredible cupcakes for my bridal shower!

This photo is courtesy of my good friend, and bridesmaid, Savvy B.

Feel free to scoot over to my photographer’s website to check out just a few of the great shots from our wedding. If you are looking for an amazing and sweet photographer for your own wedding, don’t hesitate to contact Christina from Zen Photography. Seriously, don’t wait, she books up fast.

So, I was going for a classy, woodsy, midsummer night’s dream sort of feel.

My parents have a lot of vines in their yard so I really utilized them as a main part of my wedding decor. They were beautiful and free.

I had seen some cute bird’s nests for ring bearers on Etsy, and just thought to myself, I can make that. I made a sweet little bird’s nest for my ring bearer with the vines from my parents’ yard. I really didn’t know what I was doing. I just kept twisting, and crossing and circling and out came a bird’s nest. Then I added moss I got from Michaels, Jo-Ann Fabrics or T.J. Maxx I’m not sure which, because honestly I bought moss from all of those places for the wedding. I also added  pine cones from the great outdoors, and a little bit of aired out purple potpourri. That stuff was fragrant, but it was relatively inexpensive and I used it in the centerpieces too. I just had to lay it outside in the sun to get rid of the smell. Just make sure you don’t leave it out in the rain. (It only happened one time.)

Next, I searched high and low for the perfect flower girl basket and finally when my mom, her friend and I went to our local florist Love’s Flowers to order the flowers in bulk, there it was. The perfectly adorable little hat shaped basket like the one I’d seen on Etsy for $43.50. Mine was only $5 and I had plans for how to dress it up to match the bird’s nest. But, weeks went by and I still hadn’t gotten to it. Luckily, my sister-in law, Laura from over at Ducky’s Adventures, came to town a bit early for the wedding and she completely understood my vision.

See how great they look on my wedding day.

My cousins from Miami were my ring bearer and flower girl.

Look at these sweet and funny girls during the rehearsal.

And this cute one from my wedding day.

I know you can’t really see them, but their dresses were from Nordstrom in purple and blue with a floral pattern.

I hope you enjoyed this little DIY inspiration from my own wedding. Remember, if you see something and you think you can make it yourself, you can! Just try it. And don’t forget the importance of your friends and family. They were total lifesavers in my wedding planning process.

Keep it crafty!

 

 

One comment

Leave a comment