Fall Felt Leaves

November 16, 2012

I just love fall. I was born and raised in the beautiful state of Vermont so I know what I’m talking about. Hot apple cider. Crisp, chilly air on cool clear days with bright blue skies. I just love it. But one thing says fall like nothing else can, and that is the foliage. Beautiful reds, oranges and yellows. I love the leaves clinging to the trees. I love to watch them fall like a swirling snow caught on the wind. And I love the fact that it takes me twice as long to walk down a side walk because I have to step on every crunchy leaf in sight. Well, when I saw a cute picture of felt leaves on Pinterest I decided I needed to make a few. (Seriously, just type “felt leaves” into the Pinterest search bar and you will get a plethora of colorful ideas.) Plus, it’s a fun little craft to do in your jammies while watching Glee.

All you need:

Felt

Scissors

Paper Template (optional)

Needle and Thread (optional)

So, here is what I did to make these leaves:

I tried to draw out some leaf shapes and ended tracing a leaf ornament.

You can actually use these leaf templates from MarthaStewart.com or find others on the internet, but I don’t have a printer at my apartment so I had to try to free-hand them.

Next, I pinned my templates onto my felt. I folded the felt in half so I could cut out two leaves at once. Just be careful to make sure you are cutting both layers accurately.

Now, you can leave them just like this or add some stitching.

I went ahead and hand stitched some leaf veins with a contrasting thread and I think they  turned out pretty cute. Simple, right?

There are lots of bloggers making these right now, but I got most of my inspiration from danamadeit.com. I love that she included ideas for where to use these soft and colorful leaves. I still haven’t decided what to do with mine. I like Martha Stewart’s idea of using them to dress up packages and presents. Maybe don a bottle of wine with one of these cuties and bring it with you to your family Thanksgiving dinner? I can see a similar idea with snowflakes as well.

Please let me know if you have any ideas for how I should use these adorable felt leaves. Or better yet, make some for yourself and let me know what you did with them.

Thanks for following along. Good night and crafty dreams!

 

4 Responses to “Fall Felt Leaves”


  1. […] wine. Sad day. So instead I picked up two bottles of sparkling cider for $5. Well, you know those felt leaves I made last week? I got out my hot glue gun and made little necklaces for the bottles. So now I have a small gift […]

  2. Ducky's Adventures Says:

    Did you hand stitch or use your sewing machine? Just curious! These are cute, especially on a wine bottle! 🙂


  3. […] On Friday, we had a Secret Santa party at work. I got one of my bosses and at first didn’t know what I was going to do. I remembered she was in a book club and enjoyed reading, so I decided to get her one of my favorite books. If you haven’t read Water for Elephants I highly recommend it. We had a small budget and since we also only had a short amount of time to buy the gifts I had to get it from Barnes and Noble and used up my whole budget. I wanted it to feel special, but my boss also happens to be Jewish, so I didn’t feel like adding an ornament to the gift wrapping would be appropriate. So, I got out my sparkly white tissue paper, and used about three sheets to make it so she couldn’t read the title through the paper. I had some pretty ribbon left over from the groomsmen boutonnieres from my wedding. And I had some left over red felt from when I made those cute fall leaves. […]


Leave a Reply

