Pumpkin Pie

November 10, 2012

The holiday season puts me in a pie mood. Last week I made an Apple Crumb Pie. This week I made a pumpkin pie. Who knows what I’ll make next week. So, let me just tell you I have been using my cell phone as my camera. This week, while I was making my pie and taking pictures of each step along the way, as well as taking pictures of my cooking partner and moral support Molly, my dog, my phone decided to stop saving any of my photos. Sad day. So, I had to borrow Jeff’s fancy iPhone to snap a picture after it was all done and partially cut into.

I used the traditional Libby’s Pumpkin Pie recipe which was on the pumpkin can. The only thing I changed was that I used a Pumpkin Pie Spice instead of adding each spice individually since I actually didn’t have cloves.

What you need:

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 can (15 oz.) LIBBY’S® 100% Pure Pumpkin
  • 1 can (12 fl. oz.) evaporated milk
  • 1 unbaked 9-inch (4-cup volume) deep-dish pie shell
  • Whipped cream (optional)

What to do:

Unroll you pie crust and put it into your pie pan making sure it is pressed to the bottom and sides all the way around. (Does anyone have any suggestions for how to do a fancy design in the crust? I really don’t know how to do anything special. My mom tried to teach me the pinchy, siz-zaggy crust but I don’t do it right and it looks weird when I try.) Or just get one of those already made amazing graham cracker pie crusts and skip this step.

MIXsugar, cinnamon, salt, ginger and cloves in small bowl. Beat eggs in large bowl. Stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mixture. Gradually stir in evaporated milk. (So I just whisked the eggs in a bowl, and I only have smallish eggs, but since I get them for free from the chickens in my yard I’m not complaining. I added the dry ingredients and pumpkin right into the same bowl. Then slowly stir in the evaporated milk.)POUR into pie shell.

BAKE in preheated 425° F oven for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 350° F; bake for 40 to 50 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack for 2 hours. Serve immediately or refrigerate. Top with whipped cream before serving. (I don’t understand how the directions say to cool on wire rack for 2 hours and then serve immediately. What? Just eat it!)

Here is my pumpkin pie just before my husband and I ate a quarter of it in one sitting.

Pumpkin Pie

What kind of pie should I make next week? Leave me a comment with your favorite.

Keep it crafty and have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

