Apple Crumb Pie

November 2, 2012

Let me just start by saying that it is pretty much the end of apple season by me. And when those apples start to fall, you can’t let them go to waste, right? Well I have had so many apples I haven’t known quite what to do with them all. I have been working so much that I haven’t had a lot of time for baking, and so I’ve even sent several apples with my husband to give to Chompy, the beaver. (On a side note, do you think that it is perfectly adorable that my husband is a zoo keeper? Because I do! I just imagine him like a manly version of Snow White with all of the woodland creatures gathered around him.) Anyway, because of Hurricane Sandy, I haven’t been able to go into work, so finally last night I baked an Apple Crumb Pie.

My Finished Apple Crumb Pie

I found the recipe on allrecipes.com which is a great website because I usually have limited ingredients around my apartment. You can just enter in what things you have and what things you don’t and at least one thing always pops up for me to make.

The recipe only has a few ingredients. All you need are apples, a pie shell, white sugar, flour, ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg, brown sugar and some butter. It also recommends a few mix-ins like raisins, chopped walnuts and lemon juice, which are optional, and it’s a good thing too because I didn’t have any of that.

Just preheat your oven to 375 degrees F (I would recommend doing this after you peel and slice all of your apples so your oven isn’t on forever) and place your 6 cups of thinly sliced apples (or not so thinly sliced depending on whether or not you are worried about cutting your fingers like me), 3/4 cup white sugar, 2 tablespoons of flour, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and  1/8 teaspoon (who has a 1/8 teaspoon?) nutmeg in a bowl and mix them around until the apples are covered in the delicious sugary goodness. Then just dump them into your pie shell.

Sugary Apples in a Pie Shell (Yell that the next time you drop something on your foot.)

After that, I just used the same bowl to mix the 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, and butter until it becomes crumbly. So here was my mistake. I just put in the 3 tablespoons of butter all at once instead of cutting it in and went right past the crumbly stage into a dough. I just took globs of it and tried to sort of spread it out evenly on top of the pie and then covered it with tin foil and baked it for 25 minutes. When I removed the tinfoil I realized that all of my globs had melted into a sort of sheet covering the top of the pie, but there was nothing I could do and so I baked it for another 30 minutes. It came out smelling and looking beautifully and honestly it still tasted delicious but while Jeff was eating it, there was a bit more of a crunch than I think there was supposed to be. Oh well.
Happy baking and crafting everyone!

One Response to “Apple Crumb Pie”


  1. […] holiday season puts me in a pie mood. Last week I made an Apple Crumb Pie. This week I made a pumpkin pie. Who knows what I’ll make next week. So, let me just tell you […]


Leave a Reply

