Back from the Holidays

January 5, 2011

I got to visit my fiance in New Jersey for Christmas and had a wonderful holiday!  Family traditions are a funny thing and even though ours are a bit different we both made strides to accommodate the other. We all got oranges in our stockings (my family tradition) and we weren’t allowed out of our rooms in the morning until his parents said it was ok so we wouldn’t spoil the surprise that Santa had come (his tradition). I learned something also. His family knows how to do Christmas. I was amazed at the piles of presents under the tree and felt like one of the family getting spoiled with things I never knew I needed until I opened them Christmas morning. Ah! Bliss! Cookies! Feasting! Playing in the snow with my puppies! Vacation! What a lovely trip!

When I cam home my parents gave me this picture:

Merry Christmas, Cara! Love, Mom & Dad

Not quite what I was hoping for, but as it turns out it was an invitation for me to pick out any sewing machine I wanted! Luckily,  I had been researching moderately priced sewing machines for a few months by then and came across the Brother CS600i which has glowing reviews. I am happy to say this is what will be coming in the mail in a few days!

CS6000i My first sewing machine!

I am excited to make some of my DIY projects go a bit faster with this new sewing machine. There are also numerous projects I had not even attempted to try by hand before that I can’t wait to make with this little machine! The sad part is, I haven’t used a sewing machine since home ec in middle school. I’m going to need to take a sewing class or watch lots of tutorials on youtube and study the manual before I can really get started.

Some projects I hope to make are:

Napkin Flatware Rolls

Zipper Pleated Pouch

Linus Blanket

Fall Pillow

Petal Pillow

Cottage Chic Cooking Apron

Any suggestions on where to start? At least I’m trying, right? I am so excited to learn how to use my new sewing machine. I wish it would get here sooner! Did you get everything you wanted this Christmas?

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday with those you love. Happy New Year! May it be filled with laughter, joy, and creativity!

~Crafty Cara

One Response to “Back from the Holidays”


  1. Hi Cara! I had no idea you had a blog. Don’t laugh at mine – I’ve been very lax about updating this past year. I wanted to tell you I have a serger, an embroidery machine, and my main workhorse machine if you ever want to come over with your new Brother and play around! I’m self-taught basically but I have tons of fabric!!!! 🙂 Let me know – especially with all this time off in winter, it might be fun.

    Cindy


Leave a Reply

