Tuna Cheesies- Like a tuna melt only better

July 8, 2010

I am living in Charlottesville, VA for the summer and found out of my parents some 12 channels, they have a station called “create” and you can visit their website here.

I have been busy with my first ever 40 hour a week job, but I do enjoy doing a little cooking some nights for my parents when they work late. I pulled out my mom’s old Betty Crocker’s cookbook and found a recipe for Tuna Cheesies, like a tuna melt only tastier. It is described as “An unusual combination of favorite foods that makes a hearty open-faced sandwich.”

I am going to list the ingredients and recipe here, but as usual for me I improvised with what I had.

1 can (6 1/2  ounces) tuna, drained- I used 2 of the small cans

1/4 cup finely chopped onion

1/4 cup chopped celery

2 tablespoons mayonnaise

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

8 slices bread or 4 English muffins, halved ( I had 2 slices of bread, and 2 hamburger buns. Luckily I was only feeding 3 people and we aren’t picky. Still delicious.)

Butter or margarine

8 slices tomato (I don’t like tomato so I didn’t use any)

8 slices process American cheese ( we didn’t have any, so I used shredded colby & monterey jack)

mayonnaise

Mix tuna, onion, celery, 2 tablespoons mayonnaise, the salt and pepper. Set oven control at broil and/or 550 degrees. Spread bread with butter and toast in broiler.

Spread tuna mixture on toast. Place tomato slice (if you want) on each and top with cheese slice trimmed to fit (or put some shredded colby & monterey jack like I did). Spread mayonnaise over cheese (I skipped this step).

Broil 5 inches from heat 3 to 5 minutes or until cheese is melted and golden brown. Serve immediately. If desired garnish with parsley or crispy fried bacon slices (totally not necessary since it was so tasty without, but you can if you want).

Makes 8 sandwiches.

Just out of the broiler

The onion provides such a delicious flavor to the tuna, and the celery provides excellent texture. It is a summer sandwich that is super easy and tasty. I served mine with extra celery stalks and leftover pasta salad (also using onion and celery and usually black olives) I had made the night before.

With celery and pasta salad; the perfect summer dinner.

Leave a Reply

