Lentil Soup

May 11, 2010

I made Lentil Soup this week for the first time. Tim and Laura made it over Christmas and I loved it, so I stole the recipe from them so I made it and fed it to my guinea pigs- I mean my friends. I didn’t have any carrots, basil, or oregano, but I got Italian style tomatoes for flavor. I use celery instead of carrots ’cause that’s what I had in my fridge. Plus, I don’t have a garlic press so I was just gonna use minced garlic from a jar except I forgot. It was pretty thick like a chili rather than soup, which I really like so I thought it turned out really well. I put lots of pepper in mine, and with every shake it tasted better and better.

1/2 an Onion chopped

1 or 2 Carrots chopped

2 cloves of garlic minced

Saute veggies with 2 Tbs of olive oil

Celery and Onions

Add 1 can Diced Tomatoes (I like the diced tomatoes with roasted garlic or Italian seasoning)

Celery, Onions and Tomatoes

Add 8 cups of warm water/veggie broth and bring to a boil.

Add the water

Wash a 1 lb bag of lentils add to boiling water along with salt, Basil and Oregano to taste.

Adding the Lentils

Bring to a simmer and let it cook for 30-45 mins.

Heating up- soupy

Heating up- thickening

Then EAT!

It's good with tortilla chips!

Yum!

Recipe courtesy of Laura. Thanks a bunch!

One Response to “Lentil Soup”

  1. Laura Mann Says:

    AWESOME! I’m glad you enjoyed!!!!


Leave a Reply

